Staff, Board & Advisors


Board Members

The Board of Directors of Northeast Historic Film consists of 10 people. The bylaws allow for as few as three (which is where NHF started in 1986), and as many as 15 board members, each elected for a three-year term.  The Board holds four meetings a year, with additional committee meetings as needed. 

Sian Evans - Veazie, ME
Consulting Producer for documentaries on science, nature and history including Discovery HD Theater, National Geographic, PBS.  Twenty-seven years of experience, working nationally and internationally. Family roots in Kingman, Macwahoc, and Millinocket, Maine.

Julia Gray  
President - Orland, ME
Director of Collections & Interpretation at the Abbe Museum in Bar Harbor, Maine. Assistant Fire Chief, Town of Orland. Bowdoin College B.A., M.A. in anthropology from the University of Arkansas with coursework in museum studies. Author, “Collections Management” in The Small Museum Toolkit, Altamira Press, 2011.
Michael Hutcherson
 - Islesboro, ME, and Boston, MA
Owner and Producer, Blast Zone Studio, independent media production. Studio Manager for Robert Gardner, artist and filmmaker, Studio7Arts in Cambridge, Mass. Media Services Director, Documentary Educational Resources. BFA from School of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston and Tufts University.
Maxim Langstaff - Orland, ME, and Los Angeles, CA

Founder and managing partner, The Wildheart Group, media production. Writer, producer and on air at WERU, Maine community radio. Family member of Hiram Percy Maxim, founder of the Amateur Cinema League. NYZS/The Wildlife Conservation Society, National Manager, Annual Support, and an executive producer, The Wildlife Concert with John Denver.
James Lindner - New York, NY
Founder of Media Matters, a consultancy specializing in audio-visual legacy materials. Media Matters is dedicated to taking traditional migration strategies into the 21st century by research and development that is focused specifically on the needs of archives and the challenges of magnetic media. Media Matters works closely with the Library of Congress, the EU’s PrestoSpace consortium and other international organizations to develop next-generation processes and standards for media preservation and migration.
Andrea McCarty – Middletown, CT
Curator of the Wesleyan Cinema Archives, Wesleyan University; Masters in Comparative Media Studies from MIT and graduate of the L. Jeffrey Selznick School of Film Preservation at the George Eastman Museum. Formerly Director of Archives and Asset Management at HBO and project archivist at WGBH. Manager of the Alamo Theatre and archivist at Northeast Historic Film from 1999–2002.

Mark Neumann, Ph.D. -
Flagstaff, AZ

Professor, School of Communication, Northern Arizona University. Teaches cultural and media studies, visual culture, and documentary. Author of Recording Culture: Audio Documentary and the Ethnographic Experience, On the Rim: Looking for the Grand Canyon, and a variety of essays on amateur film published in academic journals and edited collections.
Ron Russell, Treasurer - Verona Island, ME
Director of Bangor/Augusta Operations, Darling's Corp., Brewer, Maine, 1976-present. Native of Castine, Maine; graduate University of Pennsylvania, 1971. In early 1970s worked in advertising film production in Boston with many of the same people as NHF co-founder David Weiss.
Charles Stanhope - Southwest Harbor, ME
Chair, Maine Arts Commission. Board member, Maine Historical Society and the Southwest Harbor Public Library. Library of Congress assistant chief operating officer, retired. Portland, Maine native.  Graduate, University of Maine.  Catholic University of America master's degree in library science.
Pamela Wintle
- Washington, D.C.
Founder, Smithsonian Institution Human Studies Film Archives. Member, National Film Preservation Board. Founding chair, Association of Moving Image Archivists' amateur film group, Inédits. Family roots in Skowhegan, Maine.



Individuals with interest in the work of NHF as an organization with a vision for film, video and digital preservation, with broad public access.

  • Gillian Anderson, orchestral conductor and musicologist.
  • Q. David Bowers, author of Nickelodeon Theaters and Their Music.
  • Peter Davis, director of Hearts and Minds.
  • Kathryn Fuller-Seeley, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Cinema Studies/Communications, Georgia State University.
  • Jan-Christopher Horak, Ph.D. Director, UCLA Film and Television Archive.
  • Janna Jones, Ph.D. Associate Professor and Director of the Cinema and Visual Culture program, School of Communication, Northern Arizona University. 
  • Donna Loring, Wabanaki Cultural Tourism Coordinator, Four Directions Development Corporation. 
  • Martha McNamara, Ph.D. Director, Art and Architecture Program, Wellesley College.
  • Eric Schaefer, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Department of Visual and Media Arts, Emerson College. 
  • Samuel Suratt, Founding member of International Federation of Television Archives.*
  • Tricia Welsch, Ph.D. Associate Professor and Chair of Film Studies, Bowdoin College.
  • David Wexler, owner of Hollywood Vaults.
  • Patricia Zimmermann, Ph.D. Professor of Cinema and Photography, Roy H. Park School of Communications, Ithaca College.

Past Board Members

Past Presidents

David C. Smith, Bangor, ME *
Paul Gelardi, Cape Porpoise, ME
Richard Rosen, Bucksport, ME
Jim Henderson, Harpswell, ME
Michael Hutcherson, Islesboro, ME

Past Board Members

Thomas Bakalars, Boston, MA
Liz Coffey, Boston, MA
Deborah Joy Corey, Castine, ME
Michael J. Fiori, Readfield, ME
Francis W. Hatch, Jr., Castine, ME *
Donna Loring, Richmond, ME
Alan J. McClelland, Camden, ME *
Judy McGeorge, Ellsworth, ME
Martha McNamara, Boston, MA
Frederick Oettinger, Penobscot, ME
James A. Phillips, Bangor, ME
Terry Rankine, South Thomaston, ME *
Robert Saudek, Washington, DC *
Karan Sheldon, Milton, MA
Lynda Tyson, Northeast Harbor, ME
David Weiss, Blue Hill, ME
Justin Wolff, Portland, ME

* deceased