“I love Northeast Historic Film!  I have watched and purchased movies from them. They have done a great job preserving the early history and films of Maine.”  

posted by David

 Save the Dates! July 24-July 26, 2014 

for Visions of House and Home  
15th Annual Northeast Historic Film Summer Symposium

Studies of amateur and non-theatrical films that examine house, home, and...
posted by David

Saturday, May 17 at 4 p.m., Northeast Historic Film Screening as part of Bangor Public Humanities Day
at Brick Church, 126 Union Street, Bangor

Free screening of early twentieth-century Maine moving images:
Ellis Brook Camp, February 1928 logging work with horses and Lombard tractors filmed by Tudor Gardiner (Maine governor, 1929-1933);
Bangor Firefighters’ Parade (Main Street), 1929;
and Circus Parade, Maine, 1929 (probably July 8, 1929, Sparks Circus on Railroad Street in Bangor.)

New transfers from original 16mm film will be presented (thank you, Joe Gardner, thank you MWA FlashTransfer Choice!)
This is the first public viewing of these moving images from the family of Charles Gilbert, who graduated from the University of Maine in...

posted by David

Not only did you raise the $50,000 we need to convert to digital projection in the Alamo Theatre, but you inspired the generosity of the Stephen & Tabitha King Foundation and the Town of Bucksport to double your donations.

The projector has been ordered and a revolving fund has been set up to make much needed improvements, help provide sustainability and to support the community led, "Friends of The Alamo" as they work to expand programming.

We are all very thankful and humbled. And personally, I have been moved by the unbelievable support for this little 1916 Main Street cinema. Your generosity and love has been amazing. Thank you for saving Your community cinema!

Please follow our progress as we move forward by liking us on Facebook at

posted by Jane


Alamo Theatre

Movies playing at the Alamo Theatre
Fri 24 Oct, 7:00 pm - Sat 25 Oct, 2:00 pm
Sun 26 Oct, 2:00 pm